Hits

At the beginning of January I added the Clustrmaps gadget to my blog. This is quite an interesting gadget as it counts the hits you receive from different countries (it doesn’t give any further details than that so there’s no need to worry as your ip addresses and so on are not known to me). It’s a bit of an eye opener to see where the majority of hits came from during the month. Being a Brit I always tended to think that the visitors would mostly be other Brits. A silly asumption considering this is the world wide web. Even so I was surprised by the huge gap between the country with most visitors and everyone else.

Current Country Totals
From 4 Jan 2009 to 30 Jan 2009

United States (US) 1,452
Canada (CA) 302
Singapore (SG) 272
Japan (JP) 268
United Kingdom (GB) 247
France (FR) 234
Indonesia (ID) 191
Malaysia (MY) 186
Germany (DE) 160
Mexico (MX) 141
Thailand (TH) 125
Brazil (BR) 85
Philippines (PH) 79
Australia (AU) 78
Spain (ES) 70
Finland (FI) 60
Russian Federation (RU) 55
Poland (PL) 53
Italy (IT) 52
Chile (CL) 45
Sweden (SE) 44
Korea, Republic of (KR) 42
Norway (NO) 42
Netherlands (NL) 37
Bolivia (BO) 35
Taiwan (TW) 33
Romania (RO) 33
Turkey (TR) 29
Portugal (PT) 26
Denmark (DK) 26
India (IN) 24
Iran, Islamic Republic of (IR) 23
Argentina (AR) 22
Hong Kong (HK) 18
Saudi Arabia (SA) 18
Peru (PE) 18
Vietnam (VN) 17
Hungary (HU) 16
Switzerland (CH) 16
Austria (AT) 15
Belgium (BE) 15
Algeria (DZ) 14
New Zealand (NZ) 13
Ukraine (UA) 12
Colombia (CO) 10
Ireland (IE) 10
United Arab Emirates (AE) 9
Uruguay (UY) 9
Kuwait (KW) 9
Slovakia (SK) 8
Greece (GR) 8
Europe (EU) 7
Puerto Rico (PR) 7
Czech Republic (CZ) 6
Guam (GU) 6
Serbia (RS) 5
Pakistan (PK) 5
Tunisia (TN) 5
Egypt (EG) 5
Slovenia (SI) 4
Venezuela (VE) 4
Latvia (LV) 3
Bahrain (BH) 3
El Salvador (SV) 3
Brunei Darussalam (BN) 2
Lithuania (LT) 2
Costa Rica (CR) 2
Croatia (HR) 2
Azerbaijan (AZ) 2
Jamaica (JM) 2
Morocco (MA) 2
Israel (IL) 2
Palestinian Territory (PS) 2
Dominican Republic (DO) 2
Bulgaria (BG) 2
Myanmar (MM) 2
South Africa (ZA) 2
Iceland (IS) 1
Greenland (GL) 1
Reunion (RE) 1
Seychelles (SC) 1
Estonia (EE) 1
Mauritius (MU) 1
Cambodia (KH) 1
Honduras (HN) 1
Bahamas (BS) 1
Macau (MO) 1
Qatar (QA) 1
Guatemala (GT) 1
Georgia (GE) 1
Luxembourg (LU) 1
French Guiana (GF) 1
Panama (PA) 1
Macedonia (MK) 1
Ecuador (EC) 1

Over 1000 more visits from the US than anywhere else? Howdy. More visits from Japan than my own home country? Konnichiwa.

Well I guess I shouldn’t be surprised at the US being at the top. It’s certainly closer to Japan than I am and it’s a much bigger country than the UK. Even so I’m surprised by the huge difference in numbers. Considering how many little references I put into my posts that mostly only Brits would understand I do wonder just what people make of me? Likewise the Japanese visitors. I wonder what they think of us westerners and our strange (but hugely pleasurable) little fixation with their idols?

Now hits don’t mean that much to me. People leaving comments always mean a whole lot more. Even so It’s kind of cool to see the range of visitors in one month. The countries with over 100 hits are a good mix of Asian and western. One love. one heart. Let’s get together and feel all right. :D  On a side-note I just googled those lyrics to make sure I quoted Bob Marley correctly…I never realised Curtis Mayfield got a co-writing credit on that song.

So yeah the US, Canada, France, the UK and Germany are all up there alongside Japan, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico and Thailand. Cool mix. It’s nice to see nearly an even split between UK & French visitors. I hear a lot about France being very into Japan right now. It would be good if the UK could find a similar attitude. I have to admit to using Google to find out where some of the countries further down the list are. Reunion? Myanmar? Geography was never my strong point.

So there you go. Probably a pointless and rambling post but then so many of my posts are. I still think it’s interesting to see the diversity in locations of visitors. It’s somehow heartening to see that potentially there are so many people from so many different places worldwide who like Japanese culture (presuming that at least a few of those visitors were specifically looking for H!P stuff). Anyway I’m giving a big shout out to the one visitor from Greenland (who presumably since there was only one visitor never came back). I don’t know what he or she was looking for but I hope he or she enjoyed the visit.

2 responses to “Hits

  1. I’ll probably switch to Clustermaps then. Currently, I’m using Sitemeter, but it collects more information than I really need. When I added it to RP, it was the only stats thing I knew about. All I’m really interested in is Country info anyway.

    Love&Peace

  2. No offense to the person from Reunion, but I never knew that was the name of a country. Very interesting…

    As for stats, I like to look for the number of views a post gets, but I’ve never really thought about what country the person viewing it was from.

    As you say, though, comments are worth a heck of a lot more, but it is interesting to see who your readership is, geographically-speaking…🙂

Leave a Reply

