Naichau Kamo pv – Takahashi Ai close-up version

The Event V dvd for Morning Musume’s latest single has nine close-up pv’s (one for each member). For most members it’s the usual stuff you expect from a close-up pv. The mood of the song dictating lots of angst-ridden glances at the camera. However for Takahashi Ai we get something a bit different. Takahashi’s is four minutes of crying. From a few seconds in the tears start to fall and they basically continue for the whole pv. Watching her pv it didn’t seem to me that any special drops had been used. In fact judging from her expressions it seemed like raw emotions that she was trying to bring out. Now I’m sure Takahashi is a good actress and well done to her for giving such a strong performance, however I found it so difficult to watch. Who wants to watch someone cry for four minutes? Especially a beautiful young woman? Especially my favourite idol? Maybe I’m far too sensitive but seriously her performance was just so raw that I found it hard going. I guess it gave her a chance to show a different side to the cute and happy Ai-chan we’re used to seeing. It’s also very interesting in terms of getting a glimpse at the filming of the pv. This is basically unedited footage after all. But I can’t see me wanting to watch it too often. Well unless I find a girl and then get dumped or something. Cry along with Lovely could be the new therapy.

My reaction interests me though. Is it just the obvious reaction from someone when they see someone else cry? Or is it just that I like these idols so much that I want their lives to be like the fairytale of H!P? The neverland of constant giggles where all the members are forever smiling. Well except for when they are doing a moody song and that’s okay because it’s just the style of a song. Not real. This pv touches a raw nerve because it is raw nerves. It’s more real than what we are used to. Well either way it certainly woke me up. It’s a great performance. Just not one I can see myself wanting to watch that often. I guess H!P is my escape from the real stuff. In a world full of crap I like to get lost in the happier vibes of H!P. That’s not to say all their songs should be positive. God no. However this pv certainly pushes the boundaries of what an idol can do. Maybe I have a knee-jerk reaction to that precisely because H!P is my escape from the real world. I’d like the boundaries to be pushed in terms of the music that is performed but not necessarily in terms of the emotions within those songs. That’s a have-your-cake-and-eat-it kind of approach which can’t be right. Still I’m only human.

Then again I guess if someone with very little interest in Ai watched it they’d not think much either way (like with me if I see Sinead O’Connor’s Nothing Compares To You music video. Hey I said music video and not pv.That almost seems weird now). Maybe I’m starting to like these girls too much. Maybe I’m just a…a…wota. No wait that’s not right. Hold on, a…WOTA. Damn. I think I need to find a Wota self-help group. Hi. My name is Morningtime and I’m a wota. Please forgive me.

Here is a link to her solo pv. I guess you can judge for yourself. If you can watch it without wanting to put your arms around her and give her a hug then you officially have no soul and I hate you! If you feel a bit sad or uncomfortable then help yourself to tea and cake and make yourself at home. I like you and you are now my friend…in a very legally binding way. Other friends are available and your friendship may be repossessed if you do not keep up with the payments. I take payment through flattering comments about Takahashi Ai, Konno Asami, Iida Kaori, Yaguchi Mari, Tanaka Reina, Koharu Kusumi, Okada Yui, Mano Erina, Momoko Tsugunaga and/or Kanna Arihara.

One response to “Naichau Kamo pv – Takahashi Ai close-up version

  1. Pingback: [Blogs] Erien #1223 and Morningtime on Naichau Kamo Closeups | International Wota·

Leave a Reply

