Mitsui Aika: An Apology

Over the past couple of years this blog has gently (or not so gently depending on your point of view) poked fun at various Hello! Project idols past and present. Who can forget all my posts criticising Aya Matsuura for being the evil spawn of the Devil? Or my constant digs at Kago Skankbon’s career path? But of course most vocal of all in recent times has been my disparaging comments about Mitsui Aika. I don’t know if it’s because she’s still in H!P but this has caused more criticism than all my digs at Ayayayayaya and Skankbon combined. Now I see my humour as being a bit like that of Takaaki Ishibashi on the always was excellent Utaban. He used to have digs at Yuko, Kaori, Kei and Makoto all the time back in the days when he could still actually name individual members of Morning Musume. I see my humour as being a similar tongue-in-cheek gentle ribbing at the expense of a member who otherwise would not particularly stand out too strongly.

However I do understand that my humour does sometimes rub people up the wrong way. I am willing to admit that at times I have gone too far in my criticism. Mitsui is deep down probably a really nice individual and sweet too. As such I feel the time is now right to draw a line in the sand, hold my hand up and apologise and then move on. I feel the best way to do this is to put Mitsui up in my blog’s header picture for a limited time. So for a few days only I have created a new header picture with my favourite 5th and 6th gen members (Ai-chan and Sigh Yummy) and put Mitsui there too. I think having Mitsui as a figurehead on my blog makes up for any upset I have caused her fans over the years. I searched long and hard for the best Mitsui picture I could find as I was eager to show her in the best light possible. After all she is going up there alongside Ai-chan and Sayu, two of the most attractive H!P members ever. Eventually after hours of searching I finally found a picture that captures Mitsui looking at her absolute best. It’s often all too easy to criticise Mitsui for her weird hairstyles and weird expressions (not to mention her weird voice) so I made sure to find a picture where she looks at her prettiest and, dare I say it, most normal. So please scroll up to the top of this blog down to the bottom of this post (as I’ve now replaced the header picture with a new permanent one. Hey I did say “limited time”), look at the header picture and accept my sincerest apologies for any Mitsui insults that have offended you in the past. Feel my sincere, heartfelt love!

Yours,

Morningtime

8 responses to “Mitsui Aika: An Apology

  1. This is not fair ! You really are unredeemable. At least you could have used better photo, we barely recognise her with this hair cut…

  2. You’re terrible! You’re even meaner to Aika than I am to that alien potato thing that keeps following C-ute around.

  3. I think you know pretty well what I think about this but there’s something I’d like to say. “I see my humour as being a similar tongue-in-cheek gentle ribbing at the expense of a member who otherwise would not particularly stand out too strongly.” That’s how I see it too, I don’t know if you remember, but I compared you to Takasan before I heard you agree. Well you’re not a TV show host or a comedian, you’re a fan, but it still works a bit the same way. It’s true, Aika doesn’t really stand out in Momusu. Well to her fans she does, but she generally isn’t the centre of attention in the group in any way. I have always thought, your jokes do no harm to Aika at all. As weird as may sound, I think it’s quite the opposite. I know you since last summer and I must say, I like Aika much more now than I did a year ago. I started actually paying attention to her (I never did before), trying to figure out what is (or is not) likable about her. And I ended up… well, if not finding more things to like about her, at least growing more attached to her. I don’t think that’s the kind of result you wanted, but it’s still a good result. So, Aika fans should thank you instead! Or maybe not, but I find it strange how anyone could be offended by any of your jokes. They are so hilarious and over the top, I find it impossible to take them seriously. I liked this post because it shows, you’re not changing your style to please everyone, but you do care about those who are easily offended. Guess who else this reminds me of.🙂

      • Aww but you don’t need me for that, I don’t think she’d hurt you.😉

        I hope you’ll change the header soon, I want to see the real one there!😀

      • Aww but you don’t need me for that, I don’t think she’d hurt you.😉

        I hope you’ll change the header soon, I want to see the real one there!😀

Leave a Reply

